New DB359 trouble shooting.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by wishImay, Feb 2, 2013.


  1. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Aguilar DB359 trouble shooting. Hi guys, just brought my new 359 home today and I am floored by the sound, however I think it may have some tube issues. I am using the DI out only at the moment but when I crank the master gain I start hearing an audible buzzing noise from within the unit itself, is this a bad tube? Also the power light will not light up. Scary thing is when I turned it on it blinked the power in my apartment despite being plugged into a Furman Voltage Regulator.
  2. Primakurtz

    Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Is it plugged into a speaker cabinet, as well?
  3. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
  4. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    White Plains
    That's a problem. It always needs to be plugged into a load. Never turn it on without a cab connected.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. HeavyJazz77

    HeavyJazz77 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yes. Never, EVER run a tube head w/o a load. Not a good thing. Great head tho - congrads!!
  7. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    So I should not use it as a DI sans cab?:eyebrow: Hope I did not screw it up.
  8. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Chances are you probably didn't...THIS time. I'd go plug it up with a cab and take a listen.
  9. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    White Plains
    No, you always need to have a load connected to it no matter what. That goes for pretty much all tube amps, except for a Fender 100T in recording mode (maybe more, but I'm not sure off the top of my head).

    Do you just need a good tube DI? There might be better, smaller, cheaper options out there.
  10. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    I bought it to use with a cab. Now I need to buy a cab.:) Would the Genz Benz Focus 15 work well with the 359?
  11. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    It is 8 ohm and can handle 300 watts. Sorry, I have always been a guitar guy and used combos! I never needed to know this stuff!
  12. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    An 8 ohm 1x15 should do fine, so long as you have an 8 ohm tap on the amp. Your amp should tell you what load it wants, either with marked spkr outs, or a switch that you set for the proper load.
  13. HeavyJazz77

    HeavyJazz77 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tube power tends to translate to 3x the solid state equivalent hence you have 600w to work with numerically. I played my 359 through an Epifani T410-NYC (4 ohm - 1,000w RMS) cab for years and it was epic. Make sure you're using the correct speaker out - there are 2. One at 4, one at 8. Good luck!
  14. DJJazzV

    DJJazzV That's impossible! They're on instruments! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Great purchase! Once you get settled with a cabinet, you could also Bias the power tubes. Very simple process using a Multimeter. The Bias section is on the outside of the amp.
  15. wishImay

    wishImay

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Thank you kind sir! I am really exited about the Aguilar.
  16. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    No. Watts are watts.

Share This Page