1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New guy, probably an old question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Concreteman, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Concreteman

Concreteman

I picked up a Gk 700RBII and a couple of the potentiometers (the "woofer" and "volume", as well as one of the equalization) are quite scratchy. I was told that I can get contact cleaner and shoot some inside, so i opened the case, and dont see anywhere to apply... Obviously I am not an electrician, but I think I can fix anything. Recommendations would be appreciated.

C

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Shoot it straight into the back of the pots. If you get a little on other stuff, it's OK, but there's usually a little hole you can stick the nozzle straw on. You might have to go looking for the pots, but they're there.

3. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    I think the 700 is the same as the 1001 when it comes to cleaning the pots.
    It takes close to an hour to disassemble/reassemble those critters.
    You need to flip the preamp board over to get at the pots.
    That means removing all the knobs, nuts, screws, bolts, etc. on the front of the amp. If I remember correctly, you also need to remove a shield inside the amp.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    In that case, just spray it inside all over everything ;)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    I almost took a hammer all over the insides. ;);)

7. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f15/cleaning-dirty-pots-gk-1001rb-ii-913883/ With pics...

8. BawanaRik

BawanaRik Supporting Member