1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New here...Idea for bass...

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by mikeperrino1, Dec 16, 2012.

1. mikeperrino1

mikeperrino1

Howdy. Let me start off by saying I own no basses. That's right, I am a guitarist, so shoot me :)
    I am 17, I take an electronics class, and I wire guitars. Never dealt with basses before.
    My first question, can anyone tell me what this is?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The bridge pickup is gone, the neck pickup is all broken and corroded. If I knew what this bass was, finding a neck pickup that fits would be easy. I do not want to rout into the body or cur into the pickguard.
    second question. Are most basses wired in series or parallel when 2 single coils are active?
    I am a Brian May fan, which is where I got this idea.
    Because the bass has 2 individual switches, I thought that i could wire them in series, straight to volume and tone then to output. Would it sound better if the 2 pickups were wired in series or parallel. This bass is for my friend and bassist in my band. He plays a BC Rich Mockingbird, but the buzz makes us all very mad, which is why we want to take his old broken bass and reverse wire reverse polarity. I have also changed strings, adjusted action, and truss rod on on another friends bass. Jazzmaster Blacktop.
    So my questions, What is that bass, where can I find 2 single coil pickups for it, can I get one of the reversed, and series or parallel?
    Thanks!

2. mikeperrino1

mikeperrino1

3. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned

Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    That's a cool old Japanese bass. The pole screws on that pickup are just for show. Under the cover you will find a single coil and a ceramic magnet.