New Jazz pickups for my Squier?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by lovethegrowl, Dec 18, 2013.

1. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl

I first became cognizant of the growl of the single coil pickup on an Emerson Lake & Palmer rip-off of an orchestral piece by Janacek, "Knife-Edge'. Back then I was in HS, bass was a second instrument, & yes my Rickenbacher growled a bit, but I had flat wound strings-- it was a subtle growl.

Right at the time I quit bass, I saw Chick Correa perform at Symphony Hall right down the street from Berklee College of Music, where I attendey major instrument was trumpet. This was Jan. '75, Stanley Clarke's new bass was his fabled Alembic. I never heard anything like it, so ferocious, intense, so angry. (Check out Vulcan Worlds on Correa's " Where have I known you before" album. I was very intrigued & affected by that sound. On a level I regretted abandoning the bass. (As a Berklee student I asked Steve Swallow for private lessons--he declined saying "only bass majors" get lessons from him.

So to the point. Recently I took up bass again, & I am modding my Squire Active Deluxe V Jazz Bass to a VI string. I only paid $200 for it used. It's amazing. I'm using DR Fatbeams & with the slap switch on & the mid/hi eq turned up, I am getting something amazingly close to the Marcus Miller sound. Two problems: a) my low b is very weak, c) MMs sound is beefier. Of course that's to be expected. My pickups are standard Jazz single coils with a ceramic bar magnet, & my active eq circuit's not a Bartolini or Aguilar. (My amp gear is a Hartke LH-500 & an SWR Goliath III cab.)