New Mark Bass Rig - Advice

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by strikes, Dec 5, 2013.

1. strikes

strikes

Hi all! I have been reading these forums for a good while and finally need to post and ask a question. I play in a hard rock band so we are definitely pretty loud, I have had trouble even hearing myself sometimes.

I am looking at purchasing the following...

Little Mark III
    151P 1x15
    102P 2x10

I currently use a Harkte 3500 coupled with a 1x15 & 2x10 setup. Would there be any conflicting specs with the mark bass setup I am looking at or would it work and sound just fine?

My question is, with these new cabs and little mark III, will I be able to achieve the same "loudness" or preferably even louder? I really appreciate any advice in advance!

2. Russell L

Russell L

No experience with the Hrtke, so I can't comment on similarities. But I have been running a LMIII with one or two 151P cabs for a couple of years with good results. The only thing I find is that i often turn the low knob back to around 10:00 to keep from having too much deep lows. I also prefer matching cabs instead of mixing them. The 2x10 might be ok with the 115, though, dunno. But I think two of the same would be better. Don't be misled into thinking that differing cone sizes have different sounds. It's more about the overall design, cab + speaker(s). I don't care for the piezo in the 151P, but frankly I'm not looking for enough highs to make use of it since I'm running flats and going for a darker sound.

You might also consider the Randy Jackson 115 cabs. They have a compression driver instead of a piezo.

3. MotorCityWest

MotorCityWest

I gigged the same setup you are thinking about buying for two years, it sounds great. It has more watts than the Hartke, although that doesn't always equal loudness.

I ended up selling the LMIII and buying the LM Tube 800, which to my ears was considerably louder, which I bought to keep up with 2 insanely loud guitar players.