1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New Member from South Africa

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by BassPlummet, Feb 10, 2014.

1. BassPlummet

BassPlummet

Greetings TalkBass Forum! I'm new to the forums and relatively new to playing Bass. I am 21 years of age and as the title states, I am from South Africa!

I started learning to play around the end of last year, October I think it was, which brings me to about 5 months. Unfortunately, because of work I have not had much time to play and thus I am nowhere near the skill level I would like to be. So I decided to join these forums in an attempt to increase my skills a little faster than doing this all on my own.

Currently I am trying to wrap my head around the theory side of things as I would like to be writing my own basslines.

Anywho! With your help, I hope to become a better bassist and make some friends along the way :)

2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

In making bass lines - will it be A, B, C or 1, 2, 3? I think in both but the A, B, C's lead me to the 1, 2, 3's of the scale degrees I need for the chord I'm playing over. Playing from standard notation sheet music I (we) think in A, B, C's, but, playing from fake chord sheet music I see the chord as an A, B or C and then build my bass line using the R-3-5-7 spelling used for that specific C chord. Keep reading.....
    This may be confusing right now. Copy and past it somewhere you can get to later. Take it one bite at a time.