1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

New (old) Bass - Nut position

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by JarBarf, Dec 26, 2012.

1. JarBarf

JarBarf

Howdy,

I'm still pretty new to the upright, and learned on a cheap ebay (craigslist) bass that I recently sold. I've been on the lookout for something a little better, and I picked this bass up from a pawn shop in Houston while on Christmas vacation. The new one is a C. Meisel model 8900. It has an existing pickup that someone used scotch tape to attach. Classy! Their asking price was $350, but I talked them down to about as much as a tank and a half of gas, so I figured what the heck. So I bought it.

The bass did have some apparent work done. The nut was moved down the neck about an inch or so. Plus, the fingerboard was very loose, and appeared to only be glued down close to the nut.

I used some hide glue to secure the fingerboard for now. My questions are:

1) Why would they move the nut down like that?

2) Is it OK where it is? If so, can I just cut and file down where the nut hangs off the neck?

I suppose if hide glue was used when the nut was moved, then I should be able to just heat it up and move it back if needed.