1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New Palmer Tube Di?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Son of Bovril, Feb 8, 2013.

1. Son of Bovril

Son of Bovril

2. Hobobob

Hobobob Don't feed the troll, folks. Supporting Member

3. Son of Bovril

Son of Bovril

Yeah it does... around the price of a REDDI I think, wondering if it is a fair competitor?

4. Son of Bovril

Son of Bovril

I see the Bassist from the Black Keys is using one, don't really know their sound though...

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Just looked them up...The Palmer DI is $1250 in the US. REDDI's $745. Palmer's from Germany, if I remember correctly, and well known for high end speaker simulation circuits. I'm no electronics expert, but the Palmer looks like it's just tubes and no output transformer, and it seems pretty lightweight for it to have one. Looks like a high end hybrid circuit rather than full-on tube/transformer like the REDDI. Probably a very nice sounding DI, but a different vibe from the REDDI.

7. Hobobob

The spec sheet says it's full tube (no semiconductors) and transformer balanced.

8. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Ya, it does have a transformer in the path, but it's likely not the same kind of big iron output transformer in the REDDI. Not if it weighs less than 6 lbs. Sounds to me more like those Jensen transformers that are smaller and show up in a lot of DI's. Again, this is all just based on looking at the gutshot and weight and putting 2 and 2 together, but the output transformer in the REDDI is the kind usually only seen in full-on tube amps and weighs a few pounds by itself. Not to say that the Palmer won't sound good, though. Wouldn't know that unless I heard it.

9. Hobobob