New Project: Am I Crazy?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by fcleff, Jan 8, 2014.

1. fcleff

fcleff

Howdy. I have never built a bass or guitar before. But I have played bass for the better part of 30 years (music degree, blah, blah, blah [I actually went to music school with Talkbass's founder.]).
    Back in 1989 I picked up my second bass, a Yamaha BB30 (made June 2, 1984; Taiwan). For whatever reason I decided to take it to a local luthier and have it modified with a brass nut, Schaller tuners, and a BadAss II bridge (don't ask me why but I suspect it has something to do with the fact that I was 19 and had only been playing for 4 years and 'brass nut' sounded cool; still love the bridge and tuners, though).I played it for a few years until I bought another bass and the Yamaha became my backup.
    One night, circa 1991 I sat up channeling Bacchus and decided I needed a fretless bass. Of course my first thought was, "If Jaco can do it, why can't I?" So out came the chisel and hammer and out went the frets. All things considered I did a good enough job at filling the spaces with epoxy so that I get a decent fretless tone. The new Yamaha BB 300 'F Custom' continued to be my backup.
    Fast forward to now. I have decided to clean it up and use it as an experiment of sorts to learn the inner workings of the instrument.
    My plan is to sand off all the stickers and paint so that I can get it to a natural finish and re-varnish. I will replace the pickups and am leaning toward Seymour Duncan Steve Harris Signatures. I don't know what I can do with the finger board so it may just stay the same.