1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New Rack Setup, need some help

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by SirDuke, Feb 8, 2013.

1. SirDuke

SirDuke

So ive been playing out of a Hartke LH1000 for about 2 years now, and i finally got the bucks saved up to buy a few extras. I went with a Tech 21 Sansamp preamp and a behringer racktuner. Altho i have been playin for a while now I am beginning to realize that im very nooby when it comes to this stuff... idk what i should plug into what, if i should be using speaker cables, if i made a mistake in what i got.. please somebody HELP!

Hartke LH1000
    Tech 21 Sansamp RBI Rackmount Bass Tube Amp Emulator
    Behringer BTR2000 Racktuner

2. carl h.

carl h.

Speaker cable goes from the power amp out to the speaker. That's the only place you use it in a rack setup.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

I understand the tuner, but why did you buy the RBI? It's a preamp, and can be used several ways, but your LH1000 already has it's own preamp.

4. SirDuke

SirDuke

I like the power i get from the hartke but im a huge fan of the lack of depth with the tone i can get. It sounds rly good but id like to be able to shape it a little better, and ive heard a lot of good things about the rbi

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. coyote1

coyote1

Because the sansamp has a specific character that the Hartke does not.

7. blastbear100

blastbear100

Here's what I do with my markbass/sansamp setup:

from amp > effects loop send into sansamp rear input > sansamp output into effects loop return

Doing that, I just plug straight into the markbass, and when both are on, both color the tone and I shape my sound using each one. Hope this helps!

8. SirDuke

SirDuke