new strings for dark bass

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Rondofur, Sep 3, 2013.

1. Rondofur

Rondofur

Hello there, this is my first time really hunting for good strings.

I'm working with a Shen Rogeri Hybrid, and right now I'm mostly playing classical, though I do play on jazz gigs from time to time.

The willow already has a dark tone, and I want to retain that without getting too muddy. Sustain, clarity is what I'm looking for.

I currently have G/D helicore orchestral and A/E helicore hybrids set up, but I have had all hybrids and all orchestral on before.

The D and A on my bass are ideal for the sound I want, it really brings out the dark tones and responds well in both my jazz and orchestral playing.

I'm looking to replace the G, it's a bit flat sounding (to be expected playing jazz, but even arco it does imo) and I'm not sure at this point if to look for a brighter, or a warmer tone. I'd like to retain the dark tone, and I've heard/read of many choosing brighter strings to counteract it.

Strings I'm currently looking at:
    Pirastro Flexocor
    Pirastro Flat-Chromsteel
    Thomastik Spirocore

Also, if you want to comment about the other strings I'll take it, but at the moment I can really only afford the one.

Any help, or experiences with these strings would be appreciated!
  2. eub_player

eub_player

Disclosures:
    Formerly known as Francois Blais...
    How about Hybrids for all four strings?
  3. Jake

Jake

Pirastro Permanents might work for you.
  4. Rondofur

Rondofur

Sorry, I guess I messed up on that.

I have 2 full sets, one of the orchestral and one of the hybrids

I've had all four on at one point, then decided to mix them

All across, the orchs were too dull for jazz and muddy, the hybrids didn't respond as well for the classical on G and D

I will look into the Permanents
    Thank you both
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF