New SVT-4 Pro... Ready for Cleaning

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by jd_watt, Dec 29, 2013.

1. jd_watt

jd_watt

Hi All,

I'm the proud new owner of an SVT-4 Pro. I found a great deal for a used amp on Craigslist for $500. It's in good working condition, however, the graphic eq is really dusty and the input jack my need replaced (it's a little touchy/scratchy). I would like to pop the top and give it a good cleaning.

Does anyone have experience with this, and are there any good rules of thumb to avoid potential shock from any voltages? I'm a bit new to this, but I'd like to get started soon. Thanks for having a look!
  2. Pearldiver

Pearldiver

Because of the potential shock, I'd really recommend you have a professional do it. No disrespect to you. :)
  3. jd_watt

jd_watt

Hey, thank you. No offense taken... That's why I asked really. If this is something for a pro to handle, I prefer to send it out and have it done right. Like I said, I'm not real sure what's involved there. I appreciate the input.
  4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Eh, just play while you turn it off and the power fades and that should discharge the caps enough to keep you from getting killed. Besides, you're not going anywhere near the caps to clean it, so I say have at it. Use a good cleaner, though...most folks use Deoxit because it won't ruin pots.

As for the input jack, it may need retensioned. That's easy enough, though...stick something pointy in it and gently bend up the metal pieces that touch the jack. That should take care of it. If it doesn't, best to have a tech replace it unless you can solder on PCB's.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member