New to 5 string basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassmanWhiteman, Jan 10, 2014.

1. BassmanWhiteman

BassmanWhiteman

I'm thinking of buying my first 5 string bass. I have a Fender Precision bass "which I intend to keep" currently and I've played 4 strings since I started playing. Any tips, facts, recommendations or just anything someone new to the basses should know would be greatly appreciated
  2. Sid Fang

Sid Fang Reformed Fusion Player Supporting Member

Try out as many different models as you can. While almost all 4-strings have the same string spacing at the bridge (19mm), 5-string designs range from 16mm to 19mm. Similarly, while the vast majority if 4-strings have a 34" scale for string length, 5-ers are sometimes 34", sometimes 35", sometimes longer (somebody has doubtless made a short scale 5er, but I've never seen one). Find your 5-string comfort zone before you buy.
  3. SoVeryTired

SoVeryTired Endorsing nothing, recommending much Supporting Member

^ this. And don't buy purely on the numbers. If you find you like one 35" bass, doesn't mean you'll like them all. Ditto for string spacing. Try as much as possible for as long as possible.

I tried some 5-string basses in store that put me off the idea. At a better store the owner got a sense of what I did and didn't like and I ended up with a 35", 19mm 5-string. After a year I decided it wasn't my sound and got a new bass built for me - I chose 34", and 18mm was the standard spacing offered. I find one as comfortable as the other (maybe down to them both having asymmetric necks).
  4. bachlover

bachlover Supporting Member

You might want to complement your P bass with a Fender American Standard Jazz V.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned