New to Praise Music

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Kapellas, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Kapellas

Kapellas

Hey guys,

I should start by saying I had no idea where to put this (feel free to move), and yes I know there is a Praise and Worship bassist Club floating around, but I dont have months to wade through hundreds of pages of chit chat about this stuff.

I am not really a religious guy at all, but I am doing a gig with a praise band (possibly multiple gigs, who knows) this coming Sunday and I have no idea what to expect. The gig was brought to me through a drummer friend of mine who plays with the group on occasion, but is also extremely well known for his Jazz (how I met him).

I should tell you guys that I am a fairly experienced bassist and musician, and I am well versed in Funk, Fusion, Rock, Jazz, Blues, Latin, and even classical (I am studying Double bass as an undergrad).

I was kind of wondering if you guys could point me in the right direction of some tunes to listen to stylistically, and some quintessential praise bassists to study briefly. We are having a rehearsal sunday before the service, and to my understanding it is all lead sheets. I don't have anywhere to start and I would really like to come in knowing what I am doing.

You guys are awesome. Thanks for the help!

---Kosta

2. Kapellas

Kapellas

Bump? I hope someone can help me out.

3. bassteban

bassteban

P&W can cover a lot of ground, stylistically. Fred Hammond & RFC are great for urban gospel(I think- I'm no expert); Chris Tomlin is very middle-of-the-road *contemporary Christian*... Look into Hillsong United, listen to some contemp Christian radio stations... I hope this helps, and perhaps prods some others into posting. I hope your gig goes well. :)

4. chuck norriss

chuck norriss Banned