New to synth bass... where do i start?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassicsax, Nov 8, 2012.

1. bassicsax

bassicsax

so im pretty new to synth bass, and by pretty new i actually mean i have no experience with it. I want to buy a pedal that can give me a wide variety of synthy sounds, and one with recallable presets would be even better. from reading on here I am leaning toward the octavius squeezer or the markbass super synth. i like the way the squeezer has a built in fuzz, as well as its flexibility and small size. on the super synth i like that it seems like it is easier to edit presets. so being new to this type of sound i am asking for any help or advice anyone could give me as to which way to go, even if it is something i havent mentioned.
  2. Floridabwoy

Floridabwoy Supporting Member

Bef pro....

try the dubstep wobbbbbbbbbbble thread.
  3. bassicsax

bassicsax

who makes that one?
  4. Dazonbass

Dazonbass

Source Audio

I also own a BEF pro and it is a great pedal of doing wobbles, but I would not say a snyth. I always wanted a Markbass super synth because they had so much to offer, but so big. I ended up going for the BSY-600 to play around with first and it was enough, so cheap that you can't go wrong but it actually sounds and tracks well; the switching problems and plastic case are a different issue I am still dealing with.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. sillyfabe

sillyfabe keeping the low-end silly since '06

+1 to the BSY-600 (by Behringer). Awesome little unit for less than 50 bucks and has LOTS of options. It's ABS plastic and QC isnt the best over there so get one froma store with a good return policy. I've owned mine for over 2 years with no issues and I have size 14 feet.

You could always go down the octave/fuzzfilter combo route that yields A LOT of sounds but involves lots of expermentation (aka buying selling trading) until you get it the way you wanted.