New to the forum

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PhillipCarr, Mar 3, 2014.

1. PhillipCarr

PhillipCarr

Hello all. I've been playing the bass for about 14 years. I play almost exclusively at church, but not the modern worship that you might expect. More hymns (Amazing Grace, Power in the Blood, etc.), and some modern stuff, Pentecostal stuff:hyper:

My entire musical career (brass and strings) I've bought what looked cool and was the cheapest. Not a good strategy, but it was what was taught to me by my folks. My Bently 5-String fretless finally quit on me (pretty, but pretty cheap), and I'd like to get something more substantial. Not super expensive, but also not a pretty cheapy from the local pawnshop.

I've been looking at the Ibanez SR line, and like what I see. The 405 is in my price range (I want to spend about $450 - $500), but I saw a 505 (older year model) online that was blemished for about $440. Any veterans care to comment?

Also, I'd like opinions about bass guitars in this price range. I don't want to spend less than $400, but I do want the most bass for my money.

Many thanks!
  2. PhillipCarr

PhillipCarr

Forgot, my prerequisites are 5-String and Rosewood fretboard. Gotta have that B!
  3. AndyW83

AndyW83

I've played an ibanez sr755 for years and have nothing bad to say about. Great bang for the buck
  4. Maxdusty

Maxdusty Supporting Member

best value for the money is buying used.
    Guitar Center has the 30 day return policy too, so if you don't like it, you can return it.
    You can buy any used bass from any Guitar Center store in the country and just pay about $25 to have it shipped to you.
    Example, a used SR755 goes for $475. That model won't normally be in your price range as it's $850 new, but if you buy it used, it is.

http://used.guitarcenter.com/usedge...y=38&min=350&max=550&q=ibanez sr&distance=100
  5. MEKer

MEKer Supporting member