Newbie Builder: Truss Rod Trench Question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by gordon5377, Jan 29, 2013.

1. gordon5377

gordon5377

Hello all!

This is my first post in the Luthier's Corner. I'm new to the whole thing of building guitars, although maybe I should clarify that I don't actually build them but more accurately assemble them. I get most of my necks and bodies from Warmoth but as I come across something I like I'll use it.

Anyway, I am doing a P-Bass project with a body I picked up somewhere in my travels with a Warmoth 21-fret neck. The Warmoth fingerboard overhangs the heel by approx. 3/8 to 5/8 of an inch. The truss rod adjustment is in the heel of the neck and I need to cut a trench in this body. The trench needs to be no less than 1/2 inch wide and (estimating) 3/4 inch long.

My question: what is the easiest, safest way for a newbie like me to cut the trench without totally messing up the body? Is there a Dremel tool that will work or is this something left to a professional with a vertical mill or something?

Thanks for your feedback!

2. T_Bone_TL

T_Bone_TL

A job for either a router or a laminate trimmer (AKA - Small Router).

Some folks are crazy enough to use a dremel as a router, and on truly tiny things that might even make sense to me (though I'm no fan of the crummy bearings most of them have), but here it's a router.

The brave might go freehand, the burned-once will use a template/jig/sled to control travel and keep the router on track.

Whether this is a job for you or someone else is pretty much your call. Practice on scrap, and keep track of your fingers, so you have as many when you stop as when you started. Anything (including a dremel) that can cut wood can cut flesh...

You can also go old-school and use a chisel. It's a small amount you are trying to cut. Practice that on scrap too. Make sure the chisel is SHARP.

3. Scott in Dallas

Scott in Dallas

Disclosures:
    Builder and Owner: DJ Ash Guitars