Newbie Introduction and Request for Direction

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bander68, Jan 29, 2013.

1. bander68

bander68

Howdy from Texas! First post here, looking for help from more experienced bass players. A quick introduction might help you help me. I'm a professional BRASS player. My real (pays the mortgage) job is teaching in a public school, and I've got over 20 years teaching experience. I play on the side on virtually any and all brass instruments, having started as a trumpet player as a kid in the late 70s, and blossomed into a pro as a tuba player. I discovered my love for bass lines playing tuba, but...well, to put it simply, I'm a rock and roll musician at heart, but I'm stuck with the skill set of a jazz or classical musician. Nobody is going to hire a tuba player to be in their rock band.

A couple of years ago, I was given a decent bass and amp to get started. The running joke was that I couldn't play it because I couldn't figure out where to put the mouthpiece...

Fast forward to today, and I've learned a bit. Music theory is obviously not an issue whatsoever. Technique is where it's at for me, since my theory knowledge and brass knowledge are way beyond my skills. I want to keep building to a point where I can play my bass without thinking. I just GO THERE, like I can on a tuba. Whatever I think just happens because the instrument is just an extension of my ears/brain/heart.

I've been using the Ed Friedland books 1-3 for a couple of years. I've bogged down a few times, started over, bogged down again, started over again...and it seems as if I'm finally getting to a point where the book's end is in sight. I won't move on until I OWN something, and I can almost say I own every concept in those books now.

So, (finally) to my question: Where should I go next? I can put on my mp3 player and play along with some stuff (Eagles, various bands from the 70s-2000s), but I still have to skip on some stuff (Rush, RHCP, etc...)