Newbie looking for a bass around Los Angeles

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Fat Steve, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Fat Steve

Fat Steve The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.

Hello All,

I'm looking for a decent DB around the LA area. I'm completely new to the DB, in fact have never even played one. Been a guitar player for 25 years, and a electric/acoustic bass player for the last two years. I don't know anyone locally that plays a DB, nor any teachers. So, I'm kind of going out on a limb looking for my first DB. I'm looking to play bluegrass with a funk twist, and need something that will allow me to accomplish this. Are any of you fine folks from the LA/Ventura area? Any recommendations on local shops that carry DB's? Any help would be appreciated.

Budget: $1,500.

BTW, I read through a bunch of the Newbie stickies, and none quite addressed what I was trying to find, so I hope I'm not posting in the wrong place.
  2. Fat Steve

Any suggestions on music shops? I see that you're in OC. Do you know of any a little further north?
  3. lustersilk

lustersilk

World of Strings in Long Beach has a great selection of DB's and some very knowledgeable players and craftspeople. That would be a great start.
  4. lustersilk

lustersilk

When I first replied I didn't realize you were talking about DB. Yeah, like I mentioned, World of Strings is great, and pretty close to you. Pop over to Roscoe's Chicken and Waffles for lunch and you've got a pretty awesome day right there :)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Fat Steve

7. Fat Steve

I found a local shop in Pasadena that is offering one of these http://store.gotofmi.com/mimbstbawieb.html for $1,249 with a bag and a professional set up. The price is right, and it's a brand new bass. Any thoughts on this particular brand and model?
  8. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Danger, Will Robinson! Danger! :eek: