1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Newbie lost in practice...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by golfcart, Jan 7, 2014.

1. golfcart

golfcart

Good afternoon guys and gals...I've been playing the bass for a few years now but I never got the basics down. I was thrown into the praise and worship band at church and learned to play A LOT of songs and I'd say I'm doing it pretty well. BUT...I'm totally embarrassed to try out amps and basses in music stores because I was not taught (or took the time to learn) anything besides what to do...and when...My overall knowledge of the bass is honestly horrible. I know "most" of the notes of the bass without thinking about it, and the major scale. Beyond that...I'm lost...If you handed me a bass and told me to play something, I wouldn't know what to do. Now, since you all know how pitiful I am...I'd like direction with my practice. I've decided this year that I was going to learn how to play the bass, not learn how to play the right notes. To be honest, its hard to sit and practice scales when I can play songs. Of course, I can only play songs because I was told what note to play.

Luckily our piano play is amazing and he covers up a lot of my mistakes.