Newbie needs advice on multi effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by shaginwagin, Dec 14, 2012.

1. shaginwagin

shaginwagin

Hello effects gurus! I would appreciate some input...

I have a hankering for a new toy. I've only ever used a DOD grunge pedal a few times years ago, so I'm a total noob when it comes to multi effects units.

This toy will never see a stage. Won't be used for professional recordings. Won't be used in a band setting (more than likely).

It will be used at home, mostly, for my own enjoyment. Having fun, goofing around with different sounds, distortion and stuff. And possibly later, to be used for making backing tracks for my nephews amateur motocross videos, dubstep type stuff. So a looper will be necessary.

I'd like do end up with something that can "do it all" just fine. I don't have a need for amp and cab sims, I like the way my rig sounds. I would like something with an expression pedal, mainly cause I think you would need it for synth tones. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Here's the kicker, I'm not wanting to spend more than about 200 bucks. I'm ok with buying used.

I have been looking at the Zoom b3, Boss gt6b, and the Digitech BP stuff. The Digitech stuff looks cheaply made to me. I'm not hard on my stuff but the tougher the better I guess.

I'm hoping you guys could point me in the right direction about which units will do the things I'm interested in, and which ones to stay away from. Although I'm sure most are of a decent quality.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice. :bassist:

2. shaginwagin

shaginwagin

Soooo.... Maybe my questions are a little too general?

I'm looking for a multi effect unit that...
    1) has an abundance of effects to play with.
    2) has an expression pedal.
    3) has a looper.
    4) can switch between different sounds easily (mid song).
    5) can be used for recording to my computer.