Newbie post, Peavey TNT vs. TC Electronics BG250

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sunvalleylaw, Dec 28, 2013.

1. sunvalleylaw

sunvalleylaw

Hi guys, newbie here. I am a long time guitarist who just got his first bass, a Squier VM Jaguar short scale, black on black.

Now, I think I need an amp. I have a 1961 Fender Concert 4x10 that is pretty similar to a Fender Bassman, but I am thinking I might need to get a more modern bass specific amp. I will be playing basically modern grungeish rock such as Audioslave, PJ, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, RHCP. Mostly we will just be jamming, and occasionally playing out if we get any good. I will also be playing guitar depending on the song.

I am looking at getting a used Peavey TNT because they seem to be bullet proof and they are cheap. I was thinking the TNT 130 model.

Also, I was looking at the TC Electronics BG 250 to save weight. But I am worried a bit about the reliability as they seem unproven. The TNT's have been around forever.

Thoughts?

PS: I broke a string the first day out, because i am a stupid guitar player and tuned a string way too tight before I knew what i was doing. I have D'Addario flat wounds coming to replace them. Silly me, but I am just new to all this stuff. Having fun though!
  2. thefunkgorilla

thefunkgorilla

Hi SVL,
    Welcome to the world of making the earth move! A couple of quick thoughts come to mind.
    1. What's your budget? That will dictate more than anything what you get.
    2. For that 90's Rock kind of thing, I'd want something with a little grit and drive to it, maybe a tube preamp deal.
    3. Do a search on here for combo amps versus heads/separate cabs and educate yourself as to the merits of each system as relates to the bass. I use both depending on the gig.