Newbie question, bass amp and bass to mimic stand up bass sound?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Tombolino, Dec 30, 2012.

1. Tombolino

Tombolino

Hi there

Wondering....what combination of electric bass and amp can provide the best approximation to stand up bass sonically?

Besides technique, I suspect that the resonance of the amps speaker is part of the key?

I dont expect it would sound just like a stand up of course.

Thank you!

Seb

2. pHintz

pHintz

hi Seb,
    You might enjoy doing a search on "upright bass" or "acoustic bass"...the general topic you raise has often been discussed and many of the longtime TBers have great advice. I'm an old jazz guitarist and wannabe bassist myself, so I've done that search, and enjoyed all the insights.
    The main point is usually that it is impossible to get a true DB sound from an electric bass. Various combinations of technique and equipment can get their own unique, useful, and attractive kinda-sorta thump.
    This forum is a great place. Hope you'll learn as much from it as I have.
    -pH in frigid MN, USA

3. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Here are the four standard answers, may as well get them out of the way:

1) P-bass with flatwound strings and a foam mute at the bridge.

2) It's all in the finger technique.

3) It can't be done.

4) Specialty short-scale bass such as Rob Allen Mouse or Fender Ashbory.

Of course, proponents of any one of those will say the other three are not to be taken seriously.

4. jnewmark

jnewmark Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Play guitar.
    I have a fretless bass that I fool around with occaisonally that kinda gets you there. I don't see how you get that upright sound without at least starting with a fretless.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Lonesomedave

Lonesomedave

:D

my 2 cents:

it is next to impossible to get a true upright sound....BUT, my son has a lakland 4-94 with an ebony fretless neck.