1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Newbieeee bass player

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassenit, Jan 21, 2014.

1. bassenit

bassenit

Hey guys :)
    I'm a beginner-bass player, which means I've played the bass since september 2013.
    I really enjoy it, and I have a teacher.
    I started playing bass together with one of my friends, who also plays the piano and has done it for years, and he also started playing the guitar last year. So of course, he is already a big step ahead of me, because I've never really played instruments before, except the guitar, but not for very long, as I never found the guitar that interesting. But I like the bass.
    My friend, he improves. FAST. Also because he has much more time to play, than I do. He doesn't care that much about school and he doesn't have a job, like I do. I attend every class in school (he often stays away, he's a bit lazy, haha) and I do my homework and assignments, so I use a lot of my time on school and my job.

I would really like to improve myself, I feel like I'm standing still in this process, and he just keeps getting better (of course I have a lot to learn, since he knows a lot more about music, than I do), but I don't know how.

What are your tips to improve? because I really need them, thank you so much :)
  2. Mushroo

Mushroo

Welcome!