Next Friedland book recommendations

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by SlowMike, Nov 28, 2012.

1. SlowMike

SlowMike

Hi everybody,
    World's worst bassist checking in...

Took bass lessons for a little over a year with a great instructor back in 2008 but had to stop due to work and other stuff getting in the way. Gradually stopped playing due to lack of progression.

I recently started playing again and can't believe how much I'd forgotten. Lessons are out of the question for a few months, so I'm patiently going through Hal Leonard's Bass Method books 1-3. For a hands-on learner they're perfect. Although the playing exercises kick my butt until I get my brain and fingers working in synch with the music, a lot of the material covers stuff that I'd previously learned but just don't remember.

After I finish this series, I'd like to move on to another Friedland book, but I'm not sure which one. As a pretty much old straight rock listener (favorite bassists include Entwistle, Maby, Geddy and Rainey), I'd like to play along with those types of rock/pop stuff, really understand what they're playing and why, and eventually/hopefully create my own bass lines in the same types of music. I've looked through the Hal Leonard/Ed Friedland catalog, and I'm not sure which way to go...
    - Blues Bass (it all starts with the blues, right?)
    - Creating Walking Bass Lines (jazzish but I imagine it would apply to most types of music)
    - Pentatonic Scales For Bass (A lot of rock in general)

Any recommendations from those or other Friedland books?
    Thanks.

2. kellyrojo

kellyrojo

I am doing the creating walking right now. It is an awesome book with some great ideas. I will say this though--it is for jazz so if you are not a jazz guy I think the other two would be better. I would also consider it a med. as far as understanding the concepts and theories so maybe one of the other books first and then this later. GL!

3. fearceol

fearceol