1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

No more music for me, thank you.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Crg2, Apr 12, 2014.

1. Crg2

Crg2

I'm done.

7 on-and-off years with a controlling frontman who can't go two days without entirely changing a playlist, and having to "Switch" to bass when I'm a better guitar player than he is.

A recent stint at forming my own band for which I couldn't find a drummer for over a year, and with a guitar player who wouldn't so much as put out a flyer or help me do even the most minimal of promotion.

When I played guitar, I was fine singing every so often; as a bassist, I'm tired of the controlling bandleader "assigning" me lead vocals while I'm still learning how to be a bassist.

Many of you have weathered worse, but I'm just not cut out to put up with band politics and the attitudes of members. When I was younger, and played guitar with a group of far more promising young musicians, I could handle silly band nonsense, but those bright, talented players spoiled me, which left me unprepared to play with the songwriting-impaired "mere mortals" of my later years.

I didn't get to the point where I owned a Fodera, but I have a few nice production models, and, for a fair price, I'm looking to sell them. I'm also getting rid of the relatively new P.A.

In college, my professors told me that I have a gift for photography and film making. I can do that either alone, or with assistants whom I don't need to re-hire after the completion of a project. So, I'm off to learn to be better with a camera.