1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

No signal to my Ampeg SVT-4 Pro

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by salog, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my Ampeg SVT-4 Pro in the mail today and I'm trying to hook it up to my Ampeg SVT-410HLF and can't seem to get a signal. The LED lights are on and I hear the fan going but I'm getting nothing. Even touching the end of the cable produced no sound.

    I'm playing with the same bass, chord, and cab as I did with my old head so those aren't the problem. The only thing different is the mono bridge cable that came with it.

    So if anyone could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.
  2. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    Have you tried plugging into the effects return jack on the back to see if you get any sound?
  3. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    With what? The cable running to my bass?
  4. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
  5. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got nothing out of it
  6. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can you post a picture of how you have the amp connected to the cab?
  7. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can't tell from the pic.........

    Is the Bridge/Stereo button in the correct position ?
  11. coreyfyfe

    coreyfyfe Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know that cable works?

    Is that selector on stereo or mono?

    Have you tried setting it to stereo and running each power amp individually?
  12. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    First and foremost, dont bridge with a 1/4" connector. Secondly, dont bridge into that cab, it will meet its limitations before the amp in mono does at 4 Ohms. Third, are you sure the cable works? do you have another amp/cab you can trouble shoot with?

    If all that fails, its tech time I think.
  13. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it's pushed in for mono bridge


    I don't know about the cable. I don't knew where else I could test it. I also tried setting it to stereo and plugged it into each power amp. Still nothing
  14. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean? That's the cable it came with. What should I do then? Just run a normal 1/4" cable on each end?

    Sorry I'm not too tech savvy with this stuff
  15. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    If you are bridging the amp, you should be using a speakon to speakon cable. Do you have another speaker cable to try between the amp and cab?
  16. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also I don't know if this helps at all, but my old head (Gallen Kruger Backline) would "warm up" when I turned it on. The fan would kick on and it would take a second or two and then my bass connected and the fan died down. With this though the fan is on but doesn't "die down."

    I'm not sure, I've never listened for it when I was trying it out in the store.
  17. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    The amp worked in the store?

    Can you post a picture of how you have the settings on the front?
  18. salog

    salog

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't unfortunately. I could get one from a buddy and try it out later.
  19. G00D+~VIBES

    G00D+~VIBES

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine's broken too. Transformers. No warranty. .. at least three bills
  20. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    14
    You tried the amp and that cable out in the store? Are you sure that your cab works?

Share This Page