No sound from new (used) bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Monster Truck, Oct 23, 2012.

1. Monster Truck

Monster Truck groove student Supporting Member

I bought a loaded P-bass body off ebay to use with my Jazz neck. Well, I got the body today, put on the neck and some strings, plugged in my tuner, and....nothing.

So I plugged it into my amp....still nothing.

Cable and amp work with my other bass. So I took the pickguard off and checked all the solder joints, and everything looks OK. So I put my multimeter on the jacks and pots, and I'm not getting a reading. The ground wire seems OK too.

Any idea what's going on. I'm an electronics noob, and have never done any of this before. :help:

Yes, I did send the ebay seller a message.

2. Egbert89

Egbert89

Does any of the wires have a strange twist or turn in it?
    Did you try your multimeter nearer to your pups and work further down towards the jack to see from which point you're not getting a reading anymore?
    A picture of the electronics could be useful :)

3. bassbenj

bassbenj

Start with the pickups. Put the multimeter (set to OHMS and if necessary set to proper range to read 0 to about 10k. Test meter by putting leads together and make sure it reads zero) across each of the pickup halves. Each coil (half) should read about 5, 6, 7, or there abouts thousand ohms (known in the electronics biz as kOhms (k stands for kilo or 1000). Readings may depend on volume control settings.