1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Noob Question :: Correct Technique To Eliminate String Noise

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SCOMan, Mar 16, 2014.

1. SCOMan

SCOMan

Hello All,

I've been playing guitar for a few years now but have decided to give bass a try. After picking up an Ibanez GSR from eBay and giving it a restring and a good setup I've started to dig in an play.

The frustration I have is when playing up around the 12th Fret I'm getting lots of noise from the strings as I release them. After reading a few posts on this forum I'm sure it's technique. However, what I'm struggling to find is some advice on exactly what it is I need to be doing better to remove the unwanted noise.

Any advice most welcome,

SCOman

2. Reddog01

Reddog01

What do you mean by string noise? Is it buzzing, or is it a squeal from the finger movement? Or, is it something else?

3. SuperTbass

SuperTbass Supporting Member

If you're only getting it higher up on the neck, it's probably a set-up issue, not technique.

4. Frozen J

Frozen J

Flats. High action.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Lightning Bug

Lightning Bug

I have a feeling the OP is talking about harmonics (the octave at the 12th fret) that keep ringing when you use left hand guitar technique on bass. If this is the case, tou need to learn to damp strings with your right hand.

7. metalhead398

metalhead398

Definitely. This even happens to me sometimes.

Try putting a finger behind the 12th fret on the string. Does that make sense? So, try playing that note with your 3rd or 4th finger, and lay your 1st or 2nd finger on the sting behind it. You can't play a harmonic with two fingers on the same string. If you still can't picture it, I'll upload a photo.

8. SCOMan

SCOMan