Noobie active pickup question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by VBassRookie, Dec 24, 2012.

1. VBassRookie

VBassRookie

I'm new to the bass world so this may be a silly question, but this question doesn't exist in the non bass guitar world. I noticed that there is always (on most amps) a button or input for active pickups in regards to the input on amps. What is the point of active pickups if you are going to pad the input? It seems kind of oxymoron.
  2. the wako kid

the wako kid

the idea is that you can change from a passive bass to an active bass without having the settings tweaked way high(for passive) and blowing up your amp.
  3. VBassRookie

VBassRookie

Thanks, that makes sense. Curious though why you never see this on regular guitar amps.
  4. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

This isn't totally correct, and adds to the confusion per the OP"s post.

WAY back in the day, the early active circuits, for the most part, had a hire output than the older passive models (i.e., the Fender type basses at the time with no preamps). So, they uses 'active' and 'passive' as shorthand for 'high output and low output basses.

This is in NO way the case these days. Many active preamps have internal volume controls, and many more are voiced so their output is about the same with the ciruit in (active) and bypassed (passive). Unfortunately, the 'acrive/passive' labels have carried through on some amps (although many now use a -15db pad indication).

To the OP, there is rarely a need to use the 'active' input regardless of what type of instrument you have. The only time that the active input or pad switch is usefull is if you have massively aggressive technique, or a very hot bass (active or passive) that results in a distorted sound at the input stage of the amp, even when you turn the gain down.