Novice player use of pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by pecBass, Mar 17, 2014.

1. pecBass

pecBass

Hi all,

I have been playing about a year and am self taught (still a novice but play basic bass stuff each week in our praise band).

Would some type of stompbox or pedals help to diversify the sounds from my ibanez xxv four string bass?

Our guitar player frequently changes patches to match the song.

thanks!

2. pecBass

pecBass

I have been looking at something like: Zoom B3 Bass Multi Effects Pedal

3. gregmon79

gregmon79 Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    +1. This will let you try a whole bunch of effects to see what you like like/will need and let you get familiar with what they do and their perimeters. Or you could go the way of an MS60B and or a 70CDR both made by Zoom as well. Other than those, I can start a whole laundry list of pedals to try. So IMO Zoom is a great place to start. Very good and usable effects and they arent that expensive at all for what youre getting.

4. Swift713

Swift713

The B3 is a great pedal. The tuner, mute, DI, looper, drum machine, headphone amp, is all worth the price plus the effects are really solid, the amp modeling is great. It's a fantastic tool either all alone or in conjunction with other more boutique pedals.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassmusic17

bassmusic17

When I started in the effects world I had a DigiTech BP200. I think multiple effect pedals are good places to start. You literally have almost every kind of effect in one box. Most likely you will only find a few that you like. Definitely a good place to start. I still wish I hung on to mine. I found all the effects pretty useless after a while but there was a strings effect that was just awesome! If someone made a pedal with just that effect I'd buy it in a second.

7. MCS4

MCS4 Supporting Member