Nut slot question

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Sully772, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Sully772

Sully772

Hey y'all,

After hearing really good things about the Squier VM and CV basses, just picked up a Squier Chris Aiken Sig P Bass.

I'm a new player that wants to learn to work on my own gear. There's something about working on your own instrument that helps develop that bond I think.
    Anyway, I'm running into a couple issues that I think may be related to the nut. I'm new to the whole DIY setup thing, but I'm really comfortable with your basic truss rod and bridge adjustments.

Here's what I'm running into:

1) The open G is sharp
    2) The strings "snap" into the nut slot. They don't just rest in the slot like other basses I've played - they a actually require some downward pressure to snap into place. Also, when removing the string from the nutt, you have to really pull it out of the slot - it does lift out easily.
    3) The action does appear to be a bit high at the nut

I'm wondering if the nut slots are too small and need to be filed out a bit. However, all the strings are like this at the nut - only the G is off for tuning.

So far the bass feels great outside of the current issue.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. bachlover

bachlover Supporting Member

I just started doing my own set ups and I'm with you on how cool it is to work on my own instruments - really nice feeling. Not sure what you mean about the G#. As for the nut - file away!

3. lz4005

lz4005

Your nut slots are definitely too small for the strings you're using. There should be no pressure required to get them in or out of the slots.

4. Joedog

Joedog