Obligato strings for 'billy?

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by viking power, Aug 13, 2013.

1. viking power

viking power

Newb question-

Rented a beautiful blonde bass that came with obligato strings already installed. Since I'm an absolute beginner (coming over from electric) I have no clue if they are good for the genres I'm going to learn. Can you guys let me know if these will work for rockabilly, psychobilly, pizz and slap?

Thanks!
  2. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

I don't slap much so I can't help there, but they are nice strings for pizz. You might need something with less tension if you are going psychobilly though.
  3. Jeremy Darrow

Jeremy Darrow

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz-Benz Amplifiers
    I don't play rockabilly, but they might not be durable under heavy slapping.
  4. viking power

viking power

Thanks for the responses guys. Hopefully, I'll hear from some slappers but appreciated the input regarding pizz.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC Supporting Member

I'm not a slapper and I don't play one on TV. :) I usually don't venture into the Rockabilly forum but I have relevant experience to share. For jazz, I (and other players) find that Oblis have a really nice, dark sound and work well in the living room at home. On the bandstand, they tend to be a bit weak and they give up when you dig in. With a less aggressive playing style, they seem to be just the ticket for many. That sure doesn't seem to be 'billy. I'll leave it to others to recommend better strings for your playing style. Hope this helps a bit.
  7. tyb507

tyb507