1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Octave pedal for more beef?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MilesOnline, Feb 20, 2014.

1. MilesOnline

MilesOnline

So this is my first time posting.

I recently joined a sludge doom band, and in practice I feel I can't compete with our guitarist in the sense of beef.
    He's running an sg with dual humbuckers out of an all tube b52 amp and uses a digitec whammy with his down two octave enabled.
    He's ****ing low and heavy!

I'm looking for an octave pedal that will allow me to do the same, drop down an octave or two per note. I've read allot of reviews but I want somthing that will play nice with my other pedals. I don't want to use the octave for distortion, I already get my dirt from a swollen pickle for the fuzz and a boss bass overdrive for my OD. I'm playing a fretless ibanez soundgear with dual humbuckers out of an ampeg 200w micro hooked up to an 2x15 acoustic cab that I replaced the speakers for a pair of jbl 140's

Any advice?

2. lz4005

lz4005

Tell your guitar player to turn his octaver off. He has a bass player now. That's your job.

3. MilesOnline

MilesOnline

Haha I agree but his sound is so heavy with it personally I like it.
    I just want to be heavier and deeper.

4. devin_bass

devin_bass

What amp are you playing through?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

I really don't think you're going to get the desired affect by playing 1-2 octaves down from what you're doing now.

7. Richard Walters

Richard Walters

The Electro Harmonix Micro POG sounds terrific with a fretless. It tracks very well and also is polyphonic so it can handle chords you might throw in. Very sweet little pedal.

8. Diaz

Diaz

Are there 2 Octave down bass pedals that can actually track well?