Oh, those auditions ...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Finsterino, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Finsterino

Finsterino

I bet I am not alone in these situations. Where you go meet the band, they pull out the playlist, and they want you to just jump right in.

Now if I was a better bassist, I would not struggle with these songs. Like Fire on the Mountain (Marshall Tucker). I've heard it for 20 years, but never played it. And I did not pick it up fast enough during the audition. Fail!

Of course I should have asked for a playlist in advance. My mistake.

But even playing a song I have played dozens of times in the past (Seminole Wind) throws me for a loop if I don't have my cheat sheets and/or playing with the live band, and not the recording. Another Fail.

So one way to make this work: I bring an mp3 player to the audition with a few of my fave songs, and ask the band to play those for my audition. (these songs would be some that most folks should know - nothing off the wall). So we could all start by playing along the the recording. That way, I should be able to demonstrate that I am a capable player, given enough practice.

Comments?

Also, I have heard nothing from the band for a week, so I am not positive I was rejected , but ...
  2. obimark

obimark

This may seem pretty straightforward but ask them for 3-4 songs to audition on in advance so you can learn them? (IF you don't know them)
    Go play THOSE 3 songs, and if they like you they will offer you the position.

I would never go to an audition with out 3-4 songs prepared in advance. (and I also would NEVER learn 20 songs for an audition, unless it was with Bon Jovi or something)
  3. sobie18

sobie18