Oil finish help

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Stevosimpson, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson

Hey guys I'm wanting to do my first build and I need some advice.
    Right now I want to make a bass with a serious low end and low mid punch, with some high clarity still there. Sustain is also really important.

The wood combination I have so far is a wenge and bubinga neck with an ebony fretboard. The tonewood would be likely walnut and the top wood would be either ziricote or b&w ebony.

I really want to have a dark natural color, and preferably some kind of a oil finish. How exactly would I go about that?

Also if you guys have any suggestions wood wise let me know, I'm new to building.

Cheers.

2. Jazzdogg

Jazzdogg Less barking, more wagging! Supporting Member

A tutorial on applying a sanded-in oil finish is attached to my signature (below). Hope this helps a little.

3. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson

Thank you for the quick reply, I will try your method when I get to that stage of the build! My only other question is walnut is generally recommended to have a hard finish on it, will the minwax antique oil work for this?

4. sargebaker

sargebaker

Disclosures:
    owner/builder, ISLAND Instrument Mfg.
    Mix linseed oil, varnish and mineral spirits in a 1:1:1 ratio. Wipe it on, wait a couple minutes. Wipe it off. Repeat (5-6 times)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jazzdogg

Jazzdogg Less barking, more wagging! Supporting Member

When I've used this technique on mahogany and walnut basses, I've followed-up a few weeks later with a durable clear coat. That said, Warwick apparently has scores of customers who are perfectly happy playing instruments with an oil finish that is relatively impermanent and vulnerable. A sanded-in finish is far easier to repair/renew than a bullet-proof clear coat.

To each his own; in the end, you've gotta choose the finish that works best for YOU.

7. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson