OK.. School me up on piccolo Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dabluzeguy, Jan 12, 2013.

1. Dabluzeguy

Dabluzeguy

Disclosures:
    Partner, Rice Custom Guitars
    I play guitar and bass, wanna build a cigar box piccolo bass for personal use. Never held one before. What makes it special? What gauge strings? Special tunings? Tell me what you know from experience, please.

Thanks! ;)

2. JACink

JACink

I have no experience, so I can't school you, but I wasn't aware that a Cigar box bass and a Piccolo bass were in the same category. Could someone also school me?

3. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

It's not the bass that is piccolo, it is the strings.
    You can buy a piccolo set and install it on any bass.
    It is basically strings with a small jauge that tune EADG an octave higher than bass.
    Some instruments are thought from built to be mounted with such strings.
    Typically they have a scale shorter than 34" and a narrower neck, they often sport a tremolo bar too.

4. Dabluzeguy

Dabluzeguy

Disclosures: