1. Please read before selling or posting: TalkBass DB Classifieds Rules and FAQ
  2. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

For Sale Old German Bass WITH FLIGHT CASE

Discussion in 'For Sale: Double Basses & Bows' started by irbassist, Jan 16, 2014.

1. irbassist

irbassist

Jun 17, 2009
    Boston, MA
    Price:
    $10k
    Hi!

I'm currently selling my old German bass. The instrument has a lot of character and is a great all around bass. It is an ideal instrument for a very serious student or anyone who wishes to bring their playing to the next level. It has present sound and projects very well. For orchestral work the bass also has a nice punch to it. It is not a huge instrument so it is easy to get around but it does have a big sound. I have had the instrument for 6 years and it has helped me get into many summer music festivals and into Boston University (where I am studying now). I have played quite a bit of jazz on the instrument as well and it has proved to be and excellent jazz bass.

Over the course of those 6 years I have owned the bass I have had no major issues. I had a small open seam once (quick and easy fix) but that came from moving to a drastically different climate for school. It's a durable instrument and has been taken care of very well. In the time that I have owned it I have had a new ebony fingerboard installed, new bridge adjusters, new tailpiece wire, and a new sound post.

The top is Spruce and the back and ribs are Maple.
    Dimensions:
    Body Length - 42"
    Upper Bout Width - 19.5"
    Lower Bout Width - 25"
    Rib Depth - 8"
    String Length - 41"

I am selling a flight case with this bass as my current bass (which is much larger than this bass) does not fit this case. The case is an older model of a David Gage case. I have flown with it multiple times with out any damage to the bass!