1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

One half stack to rule them all...(guitard content).

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by CID Vicious, Mar 16, 2014.

1. CID Vicious

CID Vicious

So, like a few other TB members I also play guitar. I'm into heavier rock styles for both instruments. I'd like to figure out a gig rig that would work for both instruments...

I'm buying a Laney AOR 100W head off of a friend in a week or so. Tis a beast. LOVE the distortion. Typically I'm a Tech 21 guy but for three bills I'm getting a near perfect sound. If nothing else GREAT studio head.

However for live gigs I'm on the fence...typically I just find some amplification for my Tri-A.C. based pedalboard. Clean loud solid state...I liked the Tri AC so much I bought 2, one for effects one dry and switched by ABY. Could utilize the Laney to power the board, or as the 'dry' channel. If I loved the Laney sound enough to use live, I could get away with a stereo 4x12 - half for the Laney, half for the pedalboard.

So...for power on the "effect" side I've been looking at a micro head. Since I need a medium duty bass amp anyway.

Just tried the MB200 and the "black" Little Mark 250. I liked the latter better with a similar SUB SB4/Sterling copy even though the LM isn't supposed to be a "rock guy" amp. I figure a BDDI/BDI21 in front can take care of that, and seemed way louder than the MB200 did for nominally more.

So...any chance I could choose carefully and end up with a rig that can gig for both bass and guitar? I'm looking for opinions on:

- Using a micro head as a guitarist's 'pedalboard amp' - experience? Drawbacks? Always have the effects return...

- Speaker cabs that could cut the mustard with either instrument in a metal setting.