One-man band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Huge94, Nov 8, 2013.

1. Huge94

Huge94

Or woman, obviously.

Anyone here feel the urge of doing it all by yourself? Whether because you cannot find people intrerested in making your type of music, because you don,t like being around people, or simply because you damn want to, being a one-man band seems to me logical for many reasons.

I am a bassist first and foremost, but I also dabble in drums and am now picking up guitar. The main reason why I wan to do it all by myself, including recording, is a healthy mix of the three aforementioned reasons. First, I wanna play doom metal, but it seems most people loke the sludge/stoner type of doom as opposed to what I enjoy most, funeral doom metal (Ahab, Mournful Congregation, Shape of Despair type of thing). Secondly, I,ve been for a few years having anxiety troubles and with people,s expectations in my bass playing. I have been in a very serious band in which they wanted me to handle much more I felt I could and now I,m having trouble fitting in a band. Thirdly, it would just be awesome to be aple to put out the exact thing I want. No compromise, no dealing with otherr people's needs, just mine.

Anyone else has that urge? Anyone here does/did it?

Thanks for reading
  2. Mark Nye

Mark Nye

I'm primarily a bassist, but I play guitar when I have to. A few years back, I went through a slow gig period and decided to start picking up some solo acoustic gigs, using a phrase recorder/loop-station to lay down pseudo-drums and chord progressions to solo over. It was fun for awhile, and the money was great (mostly the "not sharing it" part). I will say, though, that I quickly tired of it. Yes, you reap all the benefits, but you also bear all the risk and all the responsibility.

Sometimes, putting up with other people's BS from time to time is worth it just to have a team in your corner.
  3. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Go for it ~