One piece body vs two piece glued

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by fnordlyone, Feb 1, 2014.

1. fnordlyone

fnordlyone Supporting Member

Hello, I'm very new to the ideas behind bass building. Every build that I have seen starts off with two pieces of wood being glued and clamped for the body. Is it impossible or just crazy (expense wise) to get a hunk of alder, swamp ash, etc., so that one could trace a bass body upon the single piece? Would it make a difference at all in tone? It just seems odd to have the body split in half like that, to this newb.
    I'm thinking of trying to find a source for some swamp ash down here near the Atchafalaya basin, and giving a build a try. I just built two cabs and I have finish carpentry skills.

thanks vets,
    fnord!

2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

They say that one piece bodies are more prone to cracking and splitting at the neck joint. I have not tried it myself, but thats what i hear.

~14" wide bits of lumber can be tough to find, and when you do, it'll likely be a part of a very long, expensive board.

Glueing two narrower pieces is a lot cheaper.

3. fnordlyone

Thank you for the reply,

I'd imagine, especially today, that such big trees (that have high demand) would be hard to find. I was just curious whether or not a saved cut off of such a monster might be worth considering for a one piece body. Since swamp ash is in my "back yard," I thought I'd see if I couldn't ask around and find something cheap that otherwise would be quite cost prohibitive. Believe me, I'm on a "no budget" budget.

fnord!

4. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

A full body takes a ridiculously small plank compared to most uses of wood and isn't difficult to find. It isn't even much more expensive.
    It's just that 2 pieces lead to more stability hence durability. It is a better choice unless you dig the esthetics of a single piece. I don't, prefering symmetry.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD