Opinion please on my future set up...good idea bad idea

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by tonytheleg, Oct 19, 2013.

1. tonytheleg

tonytheleg

Hello everyone.

I would love to get some advice on something, and I just couldn't find an answer close enough to my questions on the forums so I thought I would just ask.

And to save discussion of brands I will not be mentioning them...because I'm not looking for advice on that and I know it will just get sidetracked

First of all I'm a weekend warrior musician playing post punk/punk rock, and probably play maybe 2 shows a month. Its a fun hobby for venting and I have a good time...so I'm not keen to spend a ridiculous amount of money.

I've set my heart on a 550 watt tube amp that I love and can get for a great price, but my concern is the cab. I've been looking at 8x10s on Craigslist and in my area there is usually a boat load running from $300-$500 which I can do, I'm just not going to by a new one for double that. The concern comes in that the cab is 800rms and the amp is 550 so do you think thats too big of a gap?

I understand that there is a whole history/argument about overpower/underpower, but has anybody here used that kindof wattage on an cab that big? if so how long? was the quality good? issues?

Id be fine with even getting a 6x10 because those are 600rms which would be a better gap, but they are hard to find used, and while i found one I like for $600 new id rather not spend the extra $200 or so if i dont have to. But if it means leaps and bounds in quality and longevity its worth it to me too, and its hard to get a clear answer.

Thank you for any advice. Ive been playing guitar for years but bass is kind of new for me and I just want to step in the right direction...because bass is slowly taking over my love for guitar. All that rawness makes me want to punch down entire walls! Inset manly grunts here
  2. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

There are no Tube amps that are 550 watts