1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Opinions on bronco bridge?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by chuck norriss, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. chuck norriss

    chuck norriss Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    What opinions in general, have you applied it to other Frankensteins, is it applicable to a 32 or 34" scale? Reminds me of lakland bridges which it is obviously not.
  2. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chuck,

    The bronco bridge is a two-saddle bridge and can be difficult to intonate. Scale doesn't really matter for a bridge, but the bronco bridge also has 17mm spacing which is tighter than the 19mm standard for four-string Fender-style basses.

    A vintage-style, Fender or Fender clone bridge should would fine.

    Bob
  3. chuck norriss

    chuck norriss Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what I was after thanks bob
  4. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chuck - I have the original bridge on my Bronco, and I have always been able to intonate it properly. I find no fault with it.
  5. ponticat

    ponticat Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    What he said.
  6. Stilettoprefer

    Stilettoprefer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should be fine. Telecaster players have intonated 2 string saddles for a looooooong time.
  7. GBassNorth

    GBassNorth

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not being able to intonate the Bronco bridge is a myth. Mine intonates just fine and holds with no issues. You could argue it's a cheap bridge but as far as bridges goes it gets the job done. As for hardware on the Bronco, I'd consider upgrading the tuners or nut before I replaced the bridge.
  8. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't have "a dog in this hunt" in terms of what bridge someone uses.

    But, the string spacing on this bridge is narrower than standard. If you want 17mm, that's great.

    I personally prefer 18mm and up.

    All the best,

    Bob
  9. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    El Bronco Magnifico, with Gretsch 2202 pickup....I really like the look of the Bronco bridge.

    [​IMG]
  10. mrbell321

    mrbell321

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced the bridge on my bronco "just because". I never had issues w/ intonation or staying in tune or anything.
  11. xaxxat

    xaxxat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you get much wider than the 2" spacing of the Bronco bridge, the outer strings get very close to the edge of the neck. The Bronco neck is fairly narrow at the heel. I tried a 2 1/4" spaced bridge on one and didn't much care for how close the outer stings were to rolling off the neck.

Share This Page