optimal D.I. box for active AND passive basses?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by fasto, Nov 17, 2011.

1. fasto

fasto

i have never used a D.I. box before, soon my band will record some tracks. my understanding so far: for passive basses an active D.I. is needed and for active basses a passive D.I.?

My Musicman Big Al is both (active/passive) ... what would be the best D.I. solution?
  2. Low Sound Love

Low Sound Love

I'm no expert by far, but a quality DI such as a REDDI or a Radial JDI will handle both fine, rest assured.
  3. Warrior_Bass

Warrior_Bass

+1

I use a Radial JDI for recording and live use, with both active and passive. Works wonderfully.
  4. ack

ack Supporting Member

I use an MXR M80 Bass DI+. It works well with both passive & active basses.
    Great Color and EQ, but a pretty brutal distortion feature (IMO).
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JP Morin

JP Morin

An other option would be a sansamp bass driver DI, but it will color your sound...

I don't own one but I have played through a radial JDI many time in studio or on stage and it's a great device since it retain your sound pretty well... if you plug your bass direct in it will be the sound of your bass straight...

If you go with an active device it will do it for both active or passive bass... passive DI may work with both too but you may have capacitance/impedance like issues with passive bass
  7. Crater

Crater

The SansAmp bass DI is a standard for a reason. :) Yes, it does color your tone, it simulates the "mic'd up bass cab" sound direct, that's what it's designed to do. So, it's ideal for recording or for sending a signal to the PA. There are other bass preamp/amp simulator type DIs, the MXR was already mentioned, the Radial Bassbone is another one, and I believe Eden makes one as well.