Options for amplifying sound

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by WalkUpright, Feb 18, 2013.

1. WalkUpright

WalkUpright

I apologize in advance for the novice questions but I’m very new to this and I need some help. My band just started playing out which has required us to basically amplify our instruments for the first time. I’m currently using a Fishman BP-100 pickup that was installed on my bass when I bought it. I’ve ran this through a PA on 1 occasion and an amp on two separate occasions. My issue is this, How do I preserve the acoustic feel/tone of my bass while running through a PA? is there another pickup/mic technique that might make sense? What about a pre-amp? Would that give me the ability to control my own tone?

I played a gig Saturday and at first was instructed to use an amp (acoustic series from GC). The sound was awful so I asked to go direct with the rest of the guys, but the sound guy couldn’t really get the tone right and just instructed us to “get on with it” anyway. Like I said I’m new at this, I knew my sound wasn’t where I wanted it to be but I didn’t know how/what to tell this guy needed to be done.

Is a pre-amp the answer? I’ve heard some players go acoustic and just play in front of a microphone. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

thanks

2. RSBBass

RSBBass

Getting an amplified sound that is close to your acoustic sound is the goal of almost all UB players who amplify. No system is perfect. The trick is to find one that works for you and your budget.