OS X on a windows box

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Thunderscreech, Mar 9, 2009.


  1. Thunderscreech

    Thunderscreech

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
    Could I install OS X 10.5 on my new computer and dual-boot window at mac at the same time? I have A 640 GB hard drive, all of which will most likely never be fully used.
     
  2. Linas

    Linas

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Chicago
    There are people who have done it, its technically illegal. Your going to have issues getting all of your drivers working when running OSX.
     
  3. MakiSupaStar

    MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25,876
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Yeah in theory. A better set up is to start with a Mac machine and use boot camp. Less driver headaches.
     
  4. DigMe

    DigMe

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,678
    Location:
    Waco, TX
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Thunderscreech

    Thunderscreech

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
    This is true. and Apple probably has enough legal stick to get me fined & maybe jail time.
     
  7. Ben Lesser

    Ben Lesser

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,456
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    I've got Windows running on my Mac via Parallels Desktop.

    I realize that doesn't help you at all.
     
  8. Beno

    Beno

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm getting ready to install OS X on my laptop in a couple days. The hacked version I'm using OSXxX 10.5.5. Also if you pick the right hardware you could install OS X on a computer straight from the disc
     
  9. fdeck

    fdeck Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    12,747
    Location:
    Madison WI
    Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    Apple is and has always been a hardware company. I don't see them handing anybody that portion of their business gladly.
     
  10. Disco_Gee

    Disco_Gee

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Apple would like you to think it's illegal, but that is open to debate.
     
  11. L-A

    L-A

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Eh?
    Do you need OSX or would a Linux distro be fine to you?
     
  12. SpamBot

    SpamBot

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Not at all illegal. The computers at my school do that. You select on start-up which you want, XP or OSX. A school wouldn't do it if it was illegal.

    EDIT: Of course they bought it. I'm not sure if you were saying having both was illegal, or pirating it.
     
  13. Beno

    Beno

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Does your school have apple hardware of pc hardware? If it's apple hardware it's very legal, but if it's pc hardware it's a gray area, and I can't see I school doing that.
     
  14. Thunderscreech

    Thunderscreech

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
    I was just asking if it was possible. I mean, if I wanted to dual-boot, I'd do Linux probably. But I was curious
     
  15. MakiSupaStar

    MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25,876
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Try it out and let us know. :)
     
  16. evan_phi

    evan_phi

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,237
    Location:
    Saint John, Canada
  17. Beno

    Beno

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  18. L-A

    L-A

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Eh?
    It's possible, but OSX is the hardest OS to cheat with I'd guess. Ditto to Evan's hackintosh.
     
  19. SpamBot

    SpamBot

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Both. There are two labs, one with Mac and one with PCs, but they both run each OS.
     
  20. DigMe

    DigMe

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,678
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    It's definitely possible as evidenced by the link I posted in the 4th post of the thread. I know a guy who runs a hackintosh.

    bc
     
  21. Beno

    Beno

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Awesome, I wanna go to your school!
     

Share This Page