Overthinking your playing/technique?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Precision101, Jan 23, 2014.

1. Precision101

Precision101

Not sure if I'm the only one who does this or have done this but I'm in this weird stage where my technique is most important to me and I think about it too often and can't play as good as I could I try not to think about certain things that bother me on bass but they creep up on me like finger pressure on the string (if I'm digging in too hard) or triplets,and feel like my action is creeping up on me when it's not. If I think about it too much my finger style gets sloppy and I tend to get tense about what I'm doing wrong. I do have slight OCD but I'm not sure if that's the case here. Both my basses are fine btw. Should I take a break? I am a drummer as well and used to kind of have this problem with drums too. Any suggestions? Is this a normal stage of playing? I'm semi new to bass. Been playing for a year but know a lot of knowledge about the instrument and know how to play fairly well.
  2. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

I suggest recording yourself when you play. What you hear later on helps to know that you're doing just fine. Just try your best to relax and play and have fun.
  3. Precision101

Precision101

Thanks man. I do record a lot of stuff and look back and it sounds pretty good. I guess I have to look at it a different way and have fun with it more than i should
  4. pfox14

pfox14

KISS - Keep it simple stupid - I live by this rule.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MarTONEbass

MarTONEbass Supporting Member

If you are giving yourself too much feedback while playing, I highly suggest reading The Inner Game of Music.
  7. kikstand454

kikstand454 Supporting Member

All of the above and this: