P.A support?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by jacobrownoly, Dec 22, 2013.

1. jacobrownoly

jacobrownoly

Hi I am just looking for some advice and opinions on the subject of P.A support. :help:

I am in a wedding/function band which has our own PA system (2x Mackie 12" mains and 2 x Mackie 18" subs, Mackie desk and rack compression and EQ)

Last night we did I wedding in a small'ish village hall (around 100 people) and I put everything through the P.A, bass, kick, guitar, vocals and keys/synth... :eek:

I have always been a firm believer that its not for volume sake but for overall balance and ommmppp (with the subs)

I feel that the kick drum and bass guitar should always be in the P.A again just for the balance and OOMMPP. :D

I dont think I can bring myself to not use our subs :bag:

Overall it sounded pretty good and everyone said they had a great time. (With a few compliments to the band ;) )

But....is it necessary for us to use all that gear?

I am still new to the world of sound engineering and I find it hard to do the sound and be the bassist at the same time, so I am just after some advice and opinions.

Many thanks! :hyper:

2. David Hayes

David Hayes Guest

Necessary? No. You have the stuff though so why not use it.

3. derrico1

derrico1 Supporting Member

I've done plenty of those small weddings with backline filled out only by a pair of 12" active tops. Even if you do need more low-end power, you probably don't need more than one sub for a hundred-guest wedding gig.

Why carry more subs than you need for the gig?

4. Dave Curran

Dave Curran Lilduke Supporting Member

In case one goes.(most likely speaker to blow during a show.)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

Carry your subs, use IEMs and leave your bass cabinet/amp at home.

7. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member