P-Bass: Good and/or bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by UnBonGars, Jan 12, 2013.

1. UnBonGars

UnBonGars

Hey guys this is my first post here, i'm a complete noob on the forum scene so don't hate!

Basically, i own a Mexican P-Bass. The Mike Dirnt signature model; with the Rosewood neck and le split coil pickup. I bought it mainly because i love Green Day to death (Come at me, brah) and i wanted a Fender guitar.

My main issue is that the P-Bass requires (in my experience, at least) a good preamp situation happening, because the pickup isn't really that powerful. I realized soon after buying that i don't really know too much about the P-Bass sound and how to use it; so chances are that i'm completely ignorant about a crucial factor on how to get the right tone out of it (or whatever).

Any inputs on how to work a P-Bass, how to get a good tone; good P-Bass artists/sounds and anything else that may pass through your mind will be greatly appreciated. Cheers, all!

2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

What type of string are you using? I would look at some Duncan Quarter Pounders if you want a hotter pickup I would also consider a Tronographic Rusty Box, VT Bass or a Tone Hammer pedal to give you some edge I'm a huge Greenday fan also.

3. Figjam

Figjam Supporting Member

A p bass simply needs a good amp.

4. backup

backup

to me the classic p bass tone is james jamerson's.
    in the recording subforum you find a whole lot of info about jamerson.

imo p bass is all about complimenting the band. so i dont find a fancy slap tap solo tone desirable.
    to achieve something similar to the jamerson sound id use flatwound strings with a foam mute running a little into the hot zone with any given preamp.
    i love that sound!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. backup

backup

well to me p bass sounds best with preamp (just the gain control) and DI

7. Sartori

Sartori