P Bass pickup replacement

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by aris17561, Feb 25, 2014.

1. aris17561

aris17561

Hello everyone . This is my first thread so , nice to discuss with you.

Firtly I am not a bassist. I have a P Bass just for my recordings. I am a guitarist. I wanted to upgrade my Fender P bass for having the best performance of my Bass in my recordings.

I play metal , I like a tight , bigsounded , not boomy sound from my bass. It is a fender p bass mexico !!!!

Thank you !!!

2. edencab

edencab

what year is your MIM?....I have 2004...I get big boomy whenever I need......play with bass controls, amp controls, .....great pups IMHO

3. aris17561

aris17561

It is a 2003 fender mexico p bass... I dont like the boomy sound , I like a bid low end though !!! As A metalhead :bassist:

4. Lo-E

Lo-E

You might want to experiment with the hight of the pickup as well before changing pickups altogether. It's free and you'd be surprised how much it can change the sound.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. edencab

edencab

sorry mis-read.....I find I can get either boomy or not.....lots of versatility between controls, by turning up/down neck vs bridge and over all tone......neck and low tone, reggae, bridge and high and I am Jaco playing Birdland.....and everything in between

on the other hand I have heard great things about these, that I want to put on my Yamaha someday :D

http://www.wildepickups.com/Bass_Pickups.html

7. Crackle

Crackle Supporting Member

For what the original poster is describing, I highly recommend the Seymour Duncan SPB-4 Steve Harris pickup. It is a direct replacement for Precision basses and it is fantastic all-around. Not boomy . . . it is very balanced with a nice full midrange.

8. Salamenster

Salamenster

Mis-reading is a common habit of yours, innit?

9. edencab

edencab

huh?. common habit?..have you seen me mis-read before?......